Stations of the Cross - Call for Artists

Honoring the Suffering Christ

By depicting the final moments of Jesus, the Stations of the Cross visually facilitate our meditation on the suffering He endured for us.  The Stations are especially appropriate and powerful in the last days of Lent, as the Church commemorates the Passion of our Christ.

You are invited to participate in an exhibit featuring one work of art based on each of these fourteen Stations by fourteen artists. You may use any medium, any style.  If you would like to participate, please respond by listing your first three choices for the Station you would like to depict and email to:  In return you will receive detailed information and entry rules.

Not all of the traditional Stations are found in the gospel accounts.  So, on Good Friday of 1991, Pope John Paul II introduced a new form of devotion called the Scriptural Way of the Cross.  These fourteen Stations are:


1. Jesus prays in the garden of Gethsemane

2. Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested

3. Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin

4. Jesus is denied by Peter

5. Jesus is judged by Pilate

6. Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns

7. Jesus takes up His cross

8. Simon helps Jesus carry His cross

9. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

10. Jesus is crucified

11. Jesus promises His kingdom to the repentant thief

12. Jesus entrusts Mary and John to each other

13. Jesus dies on the cross

14. Jesus is laid in the tomb


Opening Reception:

Saturday, March 31 2012 (one week before Easter Sunday)

Views: 70


You need to be a member of CIVA Network to add comments!

Join CIVA Network

© 2020   Created by CIVA.ORG.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service